DEL: Favorites Berlin and Munich start with hard-fought victories

Heavy work for the Favorites: Main-Round winner Eisbären Berlin and “Vice” Red Bull Munich started with hard-fought victories in the play-offs of the German Ice Hockey League (DEL), also the Grizzlys Wolfsburg and the Adler Mannheim are after the quarterfinal prelude Leadership.

Defending champion Berlin prevailed on Sunday in the first game of the “Best of Five” series against the Kölner Haie with 2: 1 (0: 0, 2: 0, 0: 1). In the evening, in Munich, the Düsseldorfer eG after 1: 2 residue with 4: 2 (1: 1, 1: 1, 2: 0) down.

The eight-time German champion Mannheim won 3: 2 (1: 1, 1: 0, 1: 1) at the Straubing Tigers. Only the main round third Wolfsburg had little problems at the 5-0 (2: 0, 1: 0, 2: 0) against the fishtown penguins Bremerhaven. Two game takes place in all series on Tuesday.

National player Marcel Nobels (21.) and Leo Pfäderl (31.) brought the Berliner to the winning road. Cologne’s David McIntyre (54.) only succeeded in the goal.

In Munich Andrew O’Brien (8.) shot the favorite against the DEG, which, like Cologne, were first in the qualifiers in the play-offs, in the lead. The Düsseldorf Jerry D’Amigo (18th) and Luca Shitterable (28th) turned the game. After compensation by Benjamin Smith (28th), Zachary Redmond (52nd) and O’Brien caused the empty gate (59.) for the decision.

In Straubing, the Tigers went through Kael Mouillierat (9th) in the lead, but Mannheim countered with hits by Jordan Szzerz (12th) and Andrew Desjardin (21.). Squirt (59.) made with his second goal for the supposed decision, but Travis St. Denis made it exciting with the 2: 3 41 seconds before the end.

Articles and videos about the topic
* Suddenly again ice hockey euphoria in Cologne | Del highlights
* All games of del live in magenta sport – also in the conference

The Wolfsburg victory was clouded by the violation of Captain Sebastian Fürner. The 39-year-old, who finished his career after the season, had to leave the ice in the last third on a stretcher. For the Grizzly’s Christopher Desousa (9th), Björn Krupp (11th), Trevor Mingoia (27./47.) And Darren Archibald (52.).